Mick Medew - The Mesmerisers

Listen to selected tracks
Broken Hearted Blues  •  Making Good Times  •  On Fire

Mick Medew On Facebook

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder


Long regarded as one of Queensland rock and roll's most venerable singer-songwriters, Mick Medew is releasing his most accomplished and well rounded album to date, The Mesmerisers, on Citadel Records. Medew is co-founder of the Screaming Tribesmen and more recently leader of Mick Medew and The Rumours, and he's been making a mark on Brisbane (and Australian) music for more than 30 years.

The Mesmerisers is a new direction for Medew with diversity its by-word, while still retaining his bedrock rock energy and pop smarts. Journeys partially down the side roads of blues and country abound, but Mesmeriser is unmistakably stamped with Mick's own distinctive vocal and plaintive guitar.

Brian Mann (Ed Kuepper, Wildcats, The Girlies, The Screaming Tribesmen, Lime Spiders, Figtree Renaissance) played bass on Mesmeriser and also produced and engineered. He moves to guitar for live shows with Leah Dent on drums and the addition of Melissa Frazer on bass.

Originally a member of seminal inner-city Brisbane band The 31st, whose ranks included future members of the Hoodoo Gurus and Died Pretty, Medew went on to front the Screaming Tribesmen, a band schooled in tough guitar rock overlaid with alternately hooky and plaintive melodies.

The Tribesmen outgrew their home town and moved to Sydney in the 1980s, becoming Australian independent music chart toppers with the classic single Igloo. The band lasted 16 years, signed to a US label, released three albums and toured North America and Europe (twice) before Mick moved home to Queensland and put them on hiatus in 1993.

Mick returned with The Bluebirds in the middle of the decade and then formed Mick Medew and The Rumours, who have been a fixture on Brisbane stages ever since. They have released one album and remain active, working up songs for a second.

Resisting several offers, Mick finally re-formed the classic line-up of the Screaming Tribesmen in 2011 for an Australian tour. In 2012 the same line-up toured Europe, appearing at the prestigious Azkena Festival in Spain and playing alongside Ozzie Osborne, Blue Oyster Cult and Lyrnyrd Skynyrd. Mick has branched into solo shows, supporting the likes of US powerpop legend Paul Collins and playing interstate.
Tracklisting (29:23 m:s)
  1. Broken Hearted Blues (M Medew / R Hope) (3:49 m:s)
  2. Riverside (Part 1) (M Medew) (1:30 m:s)
  3. Making Good Times (M Medew) (3:17 m:s)
  4. On Fire (M Medew) (3:06 m:s)
  5. Falling Down Again (M Medew) (2:13 m:s)
  6. Big Rain (M Medew) (3:52 m:s)
  7. The Sin (You Should Have Told Me) (M Medew / P Ballantyne) (3:19 m:s)
  8. Dream On The Slide (M Medew) (2:52 m:s)
  9. Bloodsucking A Small Town (M Medew / M Atkinson) (3:17 m:s)
  10. Been Here Before (M Medew) (2:10 m:s)