Radio Birdman - Live In Texas

Tracklisting (48:18 m:s)
  1. Murder City Nights
  2. We've Come So Far...
  3. You Just Make It Worse
  4. Anglo Girl Desire
  5. What Gives?
  6. Circles
  7. Burned My Eye
  8. Subterfuge
  9. Die Like April
  10. Smith and Wesson Blues
  11. More Fun
  12. Til The End Of The Day
  13. Hand Of Law
  14. Locked Up
  15. I-94
  16. Hot Rails To Hell

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder


  Listen to selected tracks

RADIO BIRDMAN LIVE IN TEXAS Radio Birdman's new release, Live In Texas, was recorded during the North American phase of the band's last world tour in June 2007. The recording is sure to be of great interest to fans as it will provide a unique glimpse into this iconic band's intense final incarnation.

The sound is stripped down and raw, bringing a return to the band's basic twin guitar attack. The line-up features original members Rob Younger (vocals), Deniz Tek (guitar) and Chris Masuak (guitar), along with long standing member Jim Dickson (bass) and drummer Russell Hopkinson.

The idea to record was initiated by the staff of Houston's Radio KPFT 90.1 FM with the intention of having a quality 'live' broadcast of the band's two Texas shows, legendary Emo's in Austin and The Meridian in Houston, available for broadcast on their regular Radio Sessions At Sugar Hill show. The ensuing care taken in the mixing at Sugar Hill finds Live In Texas sounding clear and powerful with a loose and ragged edge of a band playing with furious intensity and driving song tempos hard and fast.

The set features a balance of new and old, with songs drawn from each prior stage of the band's tumultuous existence. New cover versions appearing here include The Who's Circles, The Kinks' Til the End of the Day and the set closer, Blue Oyster Cult's Hot Rails to Hell. As a bonus the sleeve art and booklet features spectacular unreleased live photos.

Fans can also look forward to next year's ultimate reissues of the band's 70's albums. Included in these reissues will be recent mixes from original master tapes of 20 plus studio out-takes as well as a superlative 70 minutes of their historic December 1977 Paddington Town Hall concert. All tracks are previously unreleased. It is expected the music will be accompanied by a DVD of vintage footage and initially come packaged as a limited edition box set.