Hard-Ons - Smell My Finger

Hard-Ons - Dickcheese
Hard-Ons - Love Is A Battlefield
Hard-Ons - Yummy
Hard-Ons - Too Far Gone

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder


Citadel Records is proud to announce a five part reissue series The Hard-Ons - A Decade Of Rock. This definitive body of work will present the entire official recorded output of The Hard-Ons' first ten years of existence with a new reissue every three to four months.

Smell My Finger debuts the series.
Tracklisting Disc 1: (70:08 m:s)
  1. Lollipop (2:16 m:s)
  2. Buddies (2:03 m:s)
  3. Squathouse (1:39 m:s)
  4. Wog Food (2:52 m:s)
  5. Dancing Girls (2:17 m:s)
  6. Then I Kissed Her (2:13 m:s)
  7. Think About You Everyday (2:21 m:s)
  8. I Farted (2:41 m:s)
  9. Love Song For Cindy (2:15 m:s)
  10. Coffs Harbour Blues (2:02 m:s)
  11. School Days (2:35 m:s)
  12. It's Cold Outside (2:13 m:s)
  13. Then I Kissed Her (Arabic) (2:12 m:s)
  14. By My Side (2:15 m:s)
  15. I'll Come Again (2:23 m:s)
  16. Fifteen (1:57 m:s)
  17. Keish's New Song (1:56 m:s)
  18. From My Window (3:00 m:s)
  19. Rock'n'roll All Nite (2:19 m:s)
  20. There Was A Time (2:03 m:s)
  21. Excuses (1:32 m:s)
  22. Surfin' On My Face (2:08 m:s)
  23. Bye Bye Girl (2:00 m:s)
  24. Girl In The Sweater (2:45 m:s)
  25. I Heard Her Call My Name (2:58 m:s)
  26. All Set To Go (2:37 m:s)
  27. Ferdi's Song (1:28 m:s)
  28. Squathouse (1:41 m:s)
  29. 1970 (2:51 m:s)
  30. Show Us Wot Ya Got (2:47 m:s)
  31. Got A Baby (1:57 m:s)
Tracklisting Disc 2: (71:40 m:s)
  1. La La La (1:50 m:s)
  2. Love Song For Graham (2:03 m:s)
  3. You're Gonna Miss Me (2:23 m:s)
  4. Squathouse (2:01 m:s)
  5. Think About Everyday (2:59 m:s)
  6. Like No Other Man (1:54 m:s)
  7. Buddies (2:40 m:s)
  8. Come On (3:24 m:s)
  9. School Days (2:07 m:s)
  10. I'm Not Like Everybody Else (3:19 m:s)
  11. Looking At You (5:25 m:s)
  12. Coffs Harbour Blues (2:06 m:s)
  13. Give Me Your Brain (1:55 m:s)
  14. Suck And Swallow (3:04 m:s)
  15. Girl In The Sweater (2:45 m:s)
  16. I Heard Her Call My Name (2:55 m:s)
  17. Been Had Before (2:08 m:s)
  18. Got A Baby (2:18 m:s)
  19. Girl In The Sweater (2:45 m:s)
  20. Rockaway Beach (1:42 m:s)
  21. Show Us Wot Ya Got (2:08 m:s)
  22. Then I Kissed Her (Acoustic) (2:01 m:s)
  23. Then I Kissed Her (2:09 m:s)
  24. Fifteen (2:09 m:s)
  25. 1986 (2:10 m:s)
  26. All Set To Go (2:52 m:s)
  27. Wog Food (2:44 m:s)
  28. Squathouse (1:46 m:s)
  29. Think About You Everyday (2:16 m:s)
One of the most unlikely rock'n'roll bands to reach hero status in Australia and elsewhere are The Hard-Ons.

Originating from the underprivileged Sydney suburb of Punchbowl, this multi-racial trio of high-school kids firstly stormed local parties. Sydney's underground live music scene thereafter succumbed, quickly followed by its Australian equivalent. Then finally, the underground rock'n'roll stages of the world.

How was this possible? From all angles The Hard-Ons were doomed and headed for obscurity. They collectively hated fashion and fads - the two fulcrums upon which many bands' fortunes turn; they deliberately chose to alienate potential fans and rock critics alike with their irreverent, scathing and divisive imagery and 'humour'; they played at what was then considered unthinkable volume and velocity.

But on closer inspection, the Hard-Ons could not fail. Armed with a care-free, nothing-to-lose attitude, the band showcased a uniquely localized yet global sound and image. They were utterly Australian yet so utterly unique. Inspired by their hero counterparts from bygone eras, The Easybeats, The Saints and the like, The Hard-Ons showed the world that an unassuming rabble of immigrants could make the world's music underground fall in love with them and their stockpile of simply GREAT TUNES.

Spanning the years 1984 - 1987, it contains all of the band's early 7 inch releases and the two 12 inch album releases Smell My Finger and Hot For Your Love, Baby. Every officially released Hard-Ons' tune from the period, down to the most obscure compilation track, has been included. Adding interest to the mix is some bizarre and fascinating live documentation from salvaged party tapes and desk recordings. These highlight a head-turning mixture of punk, metal, glam, hard-rock, 60's garage, psychedelia, girl-group sounds, power-pop, bubblegum and thrash influences.

The Hard-Ons were an unexpected breath of fresh air when compared to the paisley, winkle-picker wearing garage and the leather-and-studs punk scenes that flourished in Sydney during the mid Eighties. Furious and unpredictable live shows, coupled with brilliantly vibrant recorded output, made for an irresistible knockout punch. The timeless tracks found on Smell My Finger are clear evidence of how a fearless band of teenagers left a lasting and indelible mark as they triumphed over Sydney's indie music scenes before moving out into and ultimately conquering a bigger world.

Smell My Finger is simply a MUST for fans and curious onlookers alike! Housed in a six panel gatefold deluxe sleeve, this two disc compilation encompasses 150 minutes of music delivered via exactly 60 songs. Included is a 32 page booklet featuring restored artwork, liner-notes from all three original members and original manager Tim Pittman, unpublished personal photographs and the like. Very tasty!

The Hard-Ons will be taking their live show around Australia, Europe and Japan to promote Smell My Finger. Explosive, funny and action-packed, these shows are guaranteed to blow everyone's ears and eyes.

Smell My Finger indeed...

Rod Henniker - Yagoona Tribune

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder